Lifetime Achievement Award

Call for Nominations

The Eicosanoid Research Foundation extends an invitation for nominations for its 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award, which is sponsored by Cayman Chemical. Individuals who have made substantial, significant contributions in the field on the role of bioactive lipids in health and disease will be considered.

The ERF Board has formed a Selection Subcommittee made up of a cohort of ERF Board Members including Drs. Edward A. Dennis, Lawrence J. Marnett and Gabor Tigyi, as well as an Advisory Committee made up of past Lifetime Achievement Awardees to provide input on the nominations for this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award winner will be honored at the 2017 International Conference on Bioactive Lipids in Cancer, Inflammation, and Related Disease in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, scheduled for Oct. 22-25, 2017. The awardee will deliver the Lifetime Achievement Award Lecture on the opening day of the conference.

Nominations should include a letter of support from an investigator or group of investigators outlining the candidate’s major contributions, along with his/her curriculum vitae. All nomination material should be sent electronically to Caryn Volpe in support of the Eicosanoid Research Foundation Board of Directors at The deadline for submission is March 15, 2017 by 5:00 PM (EST).


Previous Awardees:

14th International Bioactive Lipids Conference

Budapest, Hungary - July 12 - 15, 2015

Shuh Narumiya, M.D., Ph.D.
My adventures in prostaglandin research
Global Center of Excellence (GCOE) Programs, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan

13th International Bioactive Lipids Conference

San Juan, Puerto Rico – November 3 - 6, 2013

Charles A. Dinarello, M.D.
Reducing Inflammation by Blocking Interleukin-1
University of Colorado, Division of Infectious Diseases, Aurora, CO


12th International Bioactive Lipids Conference

Seattle, Washington – September 18 – 21, 2011

Raphael Mechoulam, M.D.
Chemistry Biology of cannabinoids and endocannabinoids
Faculty of Medicine, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Kerem, Jerusalem, Israel


11th International Bioactive Lipids Conference

Cancun, Mexico – October 25 – 28, 2009
K. Frank Austen, M.D.
Roles of Leukorienes, formerly known as SRS-A, in asthma and pulmonary disease
Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA

10th International Bioactive Lipids Conference

Montreal, Canada - September 16-19, 2007

John A. Oates, M.D.
Elucidation of the metabolism and biosyntheses of eicosanoids and development of new approaches to quantifying their production in humans
Vanderbilt Univeristy School of Medicine, Nashville, TN